What are Online Lessons?
Online Lessons are virtual classes or meetings set by your teacher in ManageBac. They will appear on your Dashboard and Class calendars. You can click on the Online Lesson name to see the date and time they are scheduled for, along with any details about the meeting beforehand.
You can join an online lesson by clicking on the Join button via your Home page or by hovering over the i icon on your Dashboard > Calendar and clicking the Join button that will appear. This button will take you to one of two places:
1. It will take you directly to the online meeting link. Your teacher may use Zoom (which has direct integration with ManageBac), or another meeting platform. You will be taken out of ManageBac and into that system's meeting.
2. Alternatively, if your teacher has enabled this option, it will take you to Study Mode, which allows you to view the lesson, chat, and take notes during your lesson.
What is Study Mode?
If your teacher has enabled the Study Mode, you'll be taken to this page. This page is divided into three panels.
The left panel shows Streams & Resources which are the lesson experiences and resources you'll be discussing during your lesson.
The middle panel shows the resource your teacher has chosen to currently highlight and is the main 'presentation' section. You will also see an option to Join Video Call at the bottom of the page to join the lesson itself.
The bottom panel may have several options, depending on what your teacher has enabled for this lesson. We'll review these options in detail below.
If Chat is enabled, you'll be able to chat with your teacher and fellow students during the lesson. You can use emojis, post files and images, and engage with each other here.
Your teacher can mute or delete messages posted here, and all messages are always visible to everyone in the group.
The Members tab will show you everyone in your class. If they are online, there will be a green dot next to their name.
If your teacher has enabled the Questions box, you'll be able to type questions to your teacher throughout the lesson. The questions can be private (only visible to the teacher) by ticking the Ask Private Question box before sending your question. If it's not marked Private, it will be visible to the whole class.
If your teacher has enabled the Notes tab, you'll be able to take private notes during the lesson. These notes are for your own studies and reference. They are not visible to the class. The notes will stay with the Online Lesson, so you can always go back to them after the lesson is over.
Leaving the Lesson
Once your teacher has finished the Online Lesson, they will end the lesson in Zoom or their preferred meeting platform. You do not need to leave on your own. To exit from Study Mode, click on the Leave Online Lesson button at the top of the screen.