What are Online Lessons?
Online Lessons are virtual classes or meetings set by your teacher in ManageBac. They will appear on your Dashboard and Class calendars. You can click on the i icon to see the date and time they are scheduled for, along with any details about the meeting beforehand.
You can join a lesson by clicking on it in your calendar, and clicking the Join Online Lesson button that will appear. This button will take you to one of two places:
1. It will take you directly to the online meeting. Your teacher may use Zoom (which has a direct integration with ManageBac), or another meeting platform. You will be taken out of ManageBac and into that system's meeting.
2. Alternatively, if your teacher has enabled this option, it will take you to Presentation Mode, which allows you to view the lesson, chat, and take notes during your lesson.
What is Presentation Mode?
If your teacher has enabled Presentation Mode, you'll be taken to the Presentation page. The Presentation Mode page is divided into three panels.
The left panel shows the lesson experiences and resources you'll be discussing during your lesson.
The middle panel shows the resource your teacher has chosen to currently highlight and is the main 'presentation' section. You will also see an option to Join Video Call at the bottom of the page to join the lesson itself.
The right panel may have several options, depending on what your teacher has enabled for this lesson. We'll review these options in detail below.
If KeyChat is enabled, you'll be able to chat with your teacher and fellow students during the lesson. You can use emojis, post files and images, and engage with each other here.
Your teacher can mute or delete messages posted here, and all messages are always visible to everyone in the group.
The Members tab will show you everyone in your class. If they are online, there will be a green dot next to their name.
If your teacher has enabled the Questions box, you'll be able to type questions to your teacher throughout the lesson. The questions can be private (only visible to the teacher) by ticking the Ask Private Question box before sending your question. If it's not marked Private, it will be visible to the whole class.
If your teacher has enabled the Notes tab, you'll be able to take private notes during the lesson. These notes are for your own studies and reference. They are not visible to the class. The notes will stay with the Online Lesson, so you can always go back to them after the lesson is over.
Leaving the Lesson and Presentation Mode
Once your teacher has finished the Online Lesson, they will end the lesson in Zoom or their preferred meeting platform. You do not need to leave on your own.
To exit from Presentation Mode, click on the Close Presentation Mode button at the top of the screen. If you've been working in Full-Screen Mode (hiding the left and right panels), you can also exit using the Exit Full-Screen Mode button at the top of the screen to go back to regular Presentation Mode.